Rebecca Drafts Albright serves as Associate Pastor at First Presbyterian Church in Beaufort, SC. She has lived in the Lowcountry for the past 40 years and has been an active volunteer for many organizations.

David Ames has a background in community planning and real estate development, plus 40 years of non-profit board experience where he participated in capital campaigns, branding and strategic planning. He is a former Hope Haven board member and chairman emeritus.


Sandra Atkins had a 40 year career in financial services, including owning a CPA practice for the first 25 years and then a women-owned wealth management firm that provided comprehensive financial planning and fee-only investment management services. She specialized in helping women navigate financial transitions such as the loss of a spouse, divorce or retirement. Sandra has served on several boards.

Meredith Bannon is a managing partner at the Bannon Law Group, LLC in Bluffton SC. Meredith is a practicing lawyer handling real estate closings and litigation. She entered private practice after spending 7 years working as a prosecutor in Arizona and at the 14th Judicial Circuit Solicitor's office in Bluffton, SC. She was previously a Hope Haven board member.

Sandy Berthelsen served for 30 years as an educator. For 20 years she worked in the Fairfax (Virginia) County Public Schools as a guidance counselor, a teacher in the gifted and talented program and finally as a principal. After retiring from the public school system, she was an adjunct professor at George Mason University supervising graduate student teachers. She has most recently served on the board of trustees of the Wexford Charitable Foundation in charge of their events and fundraising.


Teresa Brashears (Terri) was an elementary school teacher in New York, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina for 40 years and retired from Beaufort County School District in 2014 as a District Lead Mentor. From 2008 to the present, she and her husband are Area Developers in Augusta, GA and Boston, MA, as well as Franchise Owners in Bluffton, SC for Liberty Tax Service. She was previously a Hope Haven board member.

Mary Faas has a healthcare career that spans 30 years working as a psychiatric nurse practitioner in hospital emergency departments. She treated psychiatric emergencies as well as victims of abuse and sexual assault. She later developed a psychopharmacology clinic within the hospital. Mary has volunteered with local community groups and as a trustee for Wexford Foundation.


Jeanette Taylor Jones is an accomplished CEO, Program Director, Attorney, registered nurse and educator with many years of experience in operations/program management, team leadership, training, as well as restructuring and repositioning low-performing business operations. She also was a commissioner for the State of Minnesota and has worked in all areas of nursing.

She was previously a Hope Haven board member.


R. Christopher Kirk (Chris) is a retired CPA with careers in both the corporate world and self-employment. Chris has volunteered in many business-to-business services through the Beaufort Chamber of Commerce; assisting lower income members of our community with their business affairs; training youth in the local high schools; working with SCDNR on ecological studies; and being a juvenile court arbitrator for first time juvenile offenders, Chris is a SC certified Victim Service Provider.


Andre Nougaret spent 35 years as public school educator, serving in many roles: special education teacher; director of special education; elementary school principal; executive director of HR; assistant superintendent; deputy superintendent; superintendent. He was previously a Hope Haven board member.


Karen Fowler Penchuk worked with mentally and physically challenged adults and children for many years before entering the medical underwriting insurance field. She ended her career as vice president of the health division of an Accident and Health Reinsurance Company in New York City. Since retiring, Karen has worked with The Thumbs Up program, the United Way of the Lowcountry's community investment panel, and the Spring Island Friends of Hopeful Horizons' committee.


Marianne Rothnie worked in international education for 10 years and with a variety of organizations as a volunteer for 40 years. She was previously a Hope Haven board member.


Mark Solow is a retired financial executive with broad experience in capital markets, investment banking, management and leadership and a detailed knowledge of commercial and community banking.


Catherine Stewart has more than 40 years of marketing communications experience in both corporate and agency environments, in a variety of industries including technology, healthcare, consumer goods and nonprofits. Her career focused on strategy and program implementation in marketing, corporate communications and press and analyst relations. She was previously a CODA board member.


24-Hour Crisis Hotline: 1-800-868-2632 (SC only) or  843-770-1070

Business Number: 843-524-2256

Fax: 843-524-0597

Beaufort Office: 

1212 Charles Street

Beaufort, SC 29902

Bluffton Office:  

10 Pinckney Colony Road, Suite 101

Bluffton, SC 29909

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 1775

Beaufort, SC 29901

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

 Web presence by